2017-18 Team Profile: Limoges CSP

Aug 11, 2017 by Eurocupbasketball.com Print
2017-18 Team Profile: Limoges CSP

Former continental champion Limoges CSP returns to the 7DAYS EuroCup after a year away, determined to put the past two title-free seasons behind it, and ready to get back to competing against some of Europe’s best clubs. Limoges is not coming off a season to remember. It was in the French League playoff race throughout the regular season, but losing the last four games of the season forced the team to miss the French League playoffs for the second consecutive season. Limoges was also bounced early in the French Cup, which all led to the club’s second straight title-free season. Now, with a new head of the bench in Kyle Milling, Limoges plans to get back to contending for silverware in every competition it enters.


2015-16 EuroLeague 3-7 Regular Season
2014-15 EuroLeague 2-8 Regular Season
TOTAL: 5-15


2015-16 EuroCup 4-4 Eighthfinals
2014-15 EuroCup 3-3 Last 32
TOTAL: 7-7


Founded in 1929, Limoges Cercle Saint-Pierre spent half a century competing at the regional and local levels until it reached the French elite in 1978. By 1982, led by Richard Dacoury, Apollo Faye and Ed Murphy, the club conquered the French Cup and had a smashing debut in European competitions; Limoges won the 1982 Korac Cup by beating Drazen Petrovic and his Sibenka 90-84. The next year Limoges prevailed against the same opponent in the Korac Cup final again, 94-86. Limoges won its first French championship in 1983 and successfully defended it in both 1984 and 1985. Its EuroLeague debut came in 1984 and Limoges won the Saporta Cup in 1988 after defeating Joventut Badalona 94-86 in overtime. Limoges went on to win three consecutive French titles between 1988 and 1990 and made it to the 1990 EuroLeague Final Four, but lost to Jugoplastika Split. Bozidar Maljkovic took over as head coach and with Michael Young, Jure Zdovc and Frederic Forte – who has been the club's president since 2004 – led Limoges to the 1993 Final Four, where it played the underdog role to perfection. Limoges defeated Real Madrid and Benetton Treviso to become the first – and to date only – French team to win the EuroLeague. Limoges won the French League that season and added the French League and Cup double in 1994 before getting back to the EuroLeague Final Four in 1995. Head coach Dusko Ivanovic led Limoges to another outstanding season with three titles – French League and Cup and Korac Cup – in 2000 with Marcus Brown and Yann Bonato as its stars. The dynasty suffered a hit when financial and legal troubles took Limoges to the third division four years later. The club climbed back to the second division in 2006 and returned to the elite in 2010 – for one year only. But Limoges came back to the French League for good in 2012 and quickly lived up to its old standards. Coached by Jean-Marc Dupraz, Limoges simply did everything right in 2013-14. It ranked second after the French League regular season and downed ASVEL Basket, JDA Dijon and Strasbourg in the playoffs to conquer the title. That led to Limoges making its first EuroLeague appearance in 16 years, but it did not advance past the regular season and its EuroCup campaign that followed ended in the Last 32. However, Limoges did successfully defend its French League title by sweeping Le Havre and SLUC Nancy on the way to the finals, where it ousted Strasbourg to lift the French crown for the 11th time. Limoges’s return to the EuroLeague in 2015-16 season did not last past the regular season once again, but it did get through the EuroCup Last 32 before being ousted in the two-game eighthfinals series by Herbalife Gran Canaria Las Palmas. At home, however, Limoges missed the playoffs, and had the first of two title-free seasons. Now, this proud club returns to the EuroCup poised to again make noise.

Trophy Case

Euroleague: 1992-93
Saporta Cup: 1987-88
Korac Cup: 1981-82, 1982-83, 1999-00
French National League: 1982-83, 1983-84, 1984-85, 1987-88, 1988-89, 1989-90, 1992-93, 1993-94, 1999-00, 2013-14, 2014-15
French National Cup: 1982, 1983, 1985, 1994, 1995, 2000
Tournoi des AS: 1988, 1990
Match des Champions: 2012