Game Selector
2005-06FinalsGame 1
Dynamo Moscow is ULEB Cup champ

Final: Dynamo Moscow is ULEB Cup king!

Dynamo Moscow is the 2006 ULEB Cup champion! Dynamo clinched the first-ever European title in the club's 83-year history by downing Dynamo Moscow 60-73 in the ULEB Cup Final in front of a sellout crowd of 6,300 at the Spiroudome in Charleroi, Belgium. Dynamo thrived amid an incredible basketball atmosphere created by a majority of Aris fans thanks to an outstanding Ruben Douglas, who led the winners and earned MVP honors with 17 points. Shooting in the second half at a basket whose background was a sea of Aris yellow and black, Dynamo showed incredible poise and control. Bojan Popovic played a key role off the bench with 17 points on 12 of 12 free throws. Mire Chatman had 15 points on 9 of 10 free throws, Lazaros Papadopoulos posted a double-double of 12 points and 12 rebounds while Antonios Fotsis also grabbed 12 rebounds for Dynamo. Popovic had 11 points in the final 5 minutes of the second quarter to help Dynamo to get a 28-37 halftime lead. Aris rallied and got its last lead at 45-44, but Dynamo found a go-to guy in Papadopoulos, who scored 10 points in a game-breaking 6-19 run which sealed the win, 51-63, with 4 minutes to go. As such, Dynamo lifted the trophy in style, sweeping all seven games of the elimination rounds, a first in the four-year history of the competition. In its only previous final, Dynamo had lost to another Greek team, AEK, in the 1968 Cup Winners' Cup. Aris lost a European final for the first time after three previous victories: in the 1993 Saporta Cup, the 1997 Korac Cup and the 2003 FIBA Champions Cup. Despite its unprecedented fan support, Aris put a bitter end of its otherwise fantastic ULEB Cup season. Terrell Castle led Aris with 17 points while Ryan Stack and Giorgios Sigalas each had 10. Dynamo coach Dusan Ivkovic, who had coached Aris in the early 1980s, added to his list of honors with his fifth continental club trophy, having previously won the 1997 Euroleague with Olympiacos, the 1979 Korac Cup with Partizan, and back-to-back Saporta Cup title with AEK in 1999 and 2000. Dynamo big men Lazaros Papadopoulos and Antonios Fotsis become the first-ever players to have won both the Euroleague and the ULEB Cup titles, having both taken the top European title in 2002.

Leaders Game 1
Index Rating