Lasme named Eurocup Finals MVP

Apr 27, 2016 by Print
Lasme named Eurocup Finals MVP

Stephane Lasme came to the Eurocup this season to help Galatasaray Odeabank Istanbul capture the crown. The big man was a major reason the club was able to do so and was recognized accordingly when he was named the 2016 Eurocup Finals MVP. Lasme was chosen in a vote of accredited journalists at Game 2 of the series at Abdi Ipekci Sports Hall.

Lasme, 33, controlled the paint in Game 2 of the series with 16 points, 10 rebounds and 2 blocks as Galatasaray won the game 78-67 and the two-game, total-points series by 7 points. Lasme’s 18 rebounds over the two games were the most in the series, his 5 blocks were tied for the most and his average performance index rating of 16 was the most on his team and second most in the series. He completed this season averaging 11.2 points, 6.6 rebounds and 1.4 blocks in 24 Eurocup games and was named to the All-Eurocup Second Team.

Before signing for Galatasaray, Lasme had played five Euroleague seasons for four clubs. He was the 2013 Euroleague Best Defender and voted to the 2013-14 All-Euroleague Second Team, both with Panathinaikos Athens. He debuted in the Euroleague in 2008 with Partizan Belgrade and also played for Maccabi Tel Aviv and Anadolu Efes Istanbul.

Year Winner Team
2003 Dejan Tomasevic Valencia Basket
2004 Kelly McCarty Hapoel Jerusalem
2005 Robertas Javtokas Lietuvos Rytas Vilnius
2006 Ruben Douglas Dynamo Moscow
2007 Charles Smith Real Madrid
2008 Rudy Fernández Joventut Badalona
2009 Marijonas Petravicius Lietuvos Rytas Vilnius
2010 Matt Nielsen Valencia Basket
2011 Marko Popovic Unics Kazan
2012 Zoran Planinic Khimki Moscow Region
2013 Richard Hendrix Lokomotiv Kuban Krasnodar
2014 Justin Doellman Valencia Basket
2015 Tyrese Rice Khimki Moscow Region
2016 Stephane Lasme Galatasaray Odeabank Istanbul