2011-12 Eurocup participating teams

Jul 05, 2011 by Eurocupbasketball.com Print
The list of teams that will make up the 2011-12 Eurocup has been announced by Euroleague Basketball. For the third season in a row, the competition will be filled by teams in three different ways: by direct qualification to the Eurocup Regular Season, by promotion from the Eurocup Qualifying Round and by demotion following the Turkish Airlines Euroleague Qualifying Rounds.

A total of 10 teams from nine countries have already qualified directly to the 32-team regular season through their results in domestic competitions or through a wild card.

On July 7, a draw for the Eurocup Qualifying Round, which feature 16 teams from at least 14 countries, will be held in Barcelona. The 8 winners from those two-game, head-to-head qualifying games will advance to the Eurocup Regular Season, as well, while the 8 losing teams will play in EuroChallenge.

The remaining 14 teams that will fill the Eurocup Regular Season will be known after the Turkish Airlines Euroleague Qualifying Rounds, which has 16 teams from 13 countries, is decided in early October.

When the list of 32 teams qualified to the Eurocup Regular Season is then complete, a draw will be held to determine the regular season groups they will play in. The Eurocup Qualifying Round is administered by FIBA Europe.