2018-19 Team Profile: Valencia Basket

Aug 29, 2018 by Eurocupbasketball.com Print
2018-19 Team Profile: Valencia Basket

The 2017-18 season marked the return of Valencia Basket to the Turkish Airlines EuroLeague after an absence of three straight seasons. The team went through some rough times in the regular season, despite starting with a 3-1 record. Right after that, major injuries and unfortunate results sent Valencia on a 10-game losing streak – the longest of the season in the EuroLeague, which was very difficult to bounce back from. With a 3-11 record, Valencia collected back-to-back wins, but that was not the final injection that the team needed and in the end, the Orange team missed out on the playoffs with a final 12-18 record for 11th place. Erick Green, Bojan Dubljevic and Tibor Pleiss were the main faces for the team in the EuroLeague. In the Spanish League, Valencia Basket qualified for the playoffs, but lost in the first round against Herbalife Gran Canaria by 1-2. In the Spanish King's Cup, Valencia also fell in the first round. The only three-time EuroCup winner is now back to its talisman competition and it will definitely aim to come out on top again.


2017-18 Euroleague 12-18 Regular Season
2014-15 Euroleague 3-7 Regular Season
2010-11 Euroleague 10-11 Playoffs
2003-04 Euroleague 13-7 Top 16
TOTAL: 38-43


2016-17 EuroCup 18-5 Final
2015-16 EuroCup 13-3 Last 32
2014-15 EuroCup 5-5 Quarterfinal
2013-14 EuroCup 15-9 Champion
2012-13 EuroCup 11-5 Semifinal
2011-12 EuroCup 12-4 Final
2009-10 EuroCup 14-2 Champion
2008-09 EuroCup 10-3 Quarterfinal
2007-08 ULEB Cup 10-5 Quarterfinal
2004-05 ULEB Cup 12-3-1 Semifinal
2002-03 ULEB Cup 14-4 Champion
TOTAL: 134-48-1


Founded in 1986, Valencia reached the top Spanish League in 1988, but did not stick for good until 1996. Two years later Valencia claimed its first trophy, the Copa del Rey, by downing DKV Joventut Badalona in epic fashion. Soon the then-named Pamesa Valencia became a regular in the Spanish playoffs. In Europe, Valencia reached the Saporta Cup final twice, but lost in 1999 to Benetton Treviso and in 2002 to Montepaschi Siena. Everything changed for Valencia in the 2002-03 season. First came the ULEB Cup title as it swept Krka Novo Mesto in the finals series led by Finals MVP Dejan Tomasevic, Nacho Rodilla and Fabricio Oberto. Valencia then climbed to the Spanish League finals before losing to Barcelona. In its debut EuroLeague season in 2003-04, Valencia reached the Top 16 and came within one win of the Final Four. Valencia had plenty of success in the EuroCup, but didn't lift the trophy again until 2010. Coach Neven Spahija and star players Matt Nielsen, Nando De Colo and Victor Claver helped the then-named Power Electronics Valencia to its second EuroCup title by beating ALBA Berlin in the championship game in Vitoria, Spain. A year later, Valencia went all the way to the EuroLeague Playoffs before losing to Real Madrid. Valencia made it to another EuroCup final in 2012, but fell to Khimki Moscow Region. Valencia returned to the EuroCup Finals in 2014 and left no doubts by sweeping UNICS Kazan behind an outstanding Justin Doellman. Valencia started the 2014-15 season in the EuroLeague and ended up reaching the EuroCup quarterfinals and the Spanish League semifinals. Valencia reached three finals in 2017; Coached by Pedro Martinez and with signature stars Rafa Martinez and Bojan Dubljevic, it lost against Real Madrid in the Copa del Rey title game and against Unicaja Malaga in the EuroCup Finals, but claimed its first-ever Spanish League title by defeating Madrid in the finals with Dubljevic getting MVP honors. Back to the Turkish Airlines EuroLeague for 2017-18, Valencia struggled due to major injuries that sent the team to a 10-game losing streak from which it could not recover. The team failed to make the playoffs and also lost in the first round of the domestic playoffs, which brings the only three-time EuroCup champ back to its talisman competition.

Trophy Case

EuroCup: 2002-03, 2009-10, 2013-14
Spanish National League: 2016-17
Spanish National Cup: 1998
Spanish Supercup: 2017